Welcome To the Grand Experiment!

Music is the lube that makes my engine run smoothly. Indie rock especially makes my gears turn. I find it immensely satisfying to discover a young band, still touring in a van, playing small bars, finding their feet. These are musicians who are still working day jobs, with dreams of getting their music out to the world. Bands at this stage you can really talk to at the venues, surrounded by just a handful of friends acting as roadies and merch sellers. With the onset of Twitter, Facebook, and especially Bandcamp, the fans can connect at light speed to the music.
To that end, I’ve decided to start a new blog, Jealous Sounds. I’ve had dozens of smaller indie bands get in touch with me on Twitter, and I want to tell others about what makes these bands awesome. This will cut across genres, going from Garage rock, punk, blues, etc. The common core will be indie, with maybe only one LP or EP under their belts. In this way, I can share the wonder of finding a new badass band for yourselves.

Leave a Reply

